When Life Gets in the Way

The last few months I’ve been a bit off grid with my blog, sorting out all the life stuff after coming back from NZ.

My last blog post was on my reasoning as to why I came back. Since then, early October time, a lot has gone on. Sometimes I think it wasn’t worth it, but then if you don’t go and try something you’ll always be left wondering, which can mess with your head, especially when you’re young.

In short, since coming back, I’ve got a new job for a great company that I actually worked alongside in my previous job, started and ended my first relationship, got a new flat to myself in Cheltenham, bought a new car (Ford Fiesta ST-500 2.0 Petrol 2008) & most importantly, got back into Skating Wales as often as possible. So highs and lows..

wp-1487509823219.jpg

The transition between getting my life and career back in check definitely hasn’t been a smooth one though, taking around 2 and a half months, which was somewhat demoralising at times. Safe to say I won’t be trying to move Countries again anytime soon. Money should never be required for happiness, but not having money to go skating as often as I would usually.. fucking sucked, to put it bluntly. Living on practically zero for the 3 months before January.

The odd time, maybe once a month, I was able to borrow my parents car and go for a session in Wales, definitely helped me keep going, not just because of the Skating, but having my friends back to share it with. I also learnt to change my Toeside stance to a much higher stance during this time, which gave me something to focus on. Below shot by Cai Davies. Eagle eyed viewers may notice I’ve chopped my Never Summer Reaper deck too, this was so I can try a 25″ wheelbase as opposed to 28.5″ previously, safe to say I love it and it suits my style of riding.

wp-1487509960879.jpg

When I finally did start work on the first week of January this year, it was mixed emotions, though mostly happy. I was dreading I’d have forgotten most of what I know after a 6 month gap of being jobless, not to mention having to meet and work with new people. Fortunately I surprised myself and quickly readjusted to having to fix stuff again, which I had almost forgotten that I enjoy and still do. Also I’m working in a very friendly team of techs, something I’ve not done before and I’m loving it so far, no planning and very little customer interaction, just fix stuff and write about it, perfect.

January seemed to fly by very quickly for me, focusing on my work, moving into my new flat and reacquiring basic things like a Sofa & desk etc. When my first payday in 7 months came around, well I haven’t felt that happy in a long time, money is a worrying thing at times. Getting paid allowed me to apply for a bank loan, which in turn got approved and I was able to go buy myself a nice car with low mileage, which I fore mentioned. The following weekend (4th Feb) I went down to Bristol to buy the Fiesta ST-500 and drive back the same day, even after paying out a silly amount of Insurance money and paying the yearly car tax. But I loved the car after a test drive, so to me it was worth it.

Literally the following day, Sunday, I was free and decided to go skate Wales at short notice, fortunately two friends were free, Jack & Richie. A few hours Skating at Junglewank and I felt like a kind of normality return, as we skated Wales pretty much every weekend the previous Winter.

The following weekend was the first Downhill Skateboarding event of the year, Dig Deep, organised by Pom Pom Tom & Ry of Brianne Collective. I had four of my friends from the Barrow Longboard crew stay at mine, AKA Borderlands Skatehouse for the weekend. The Skating was a lot of fun despite being moved on by the police on Saturday and snow preventing us from skating 2 of the 3 hills on the Sunday and helped take my mind off other things that happened near that time a little.

Below Pictures from the weekend, Jack Patten & Kev Hurdle, respectively.

16681948_1630200826994804_4435400617983963093_n

16602018_1247445075309210_2678950922006857284_o

That pretty much sums up the last few months for me, safe to say it has been a slow return to ‘normal’. If there’s any wisdom I can share from my recent experiences, it’s be realistic when you’re trying something new and always appreciate the friends around you, don’t take them for granted.

 

Leave a Reply

